Tapʰòytʰaʼ Hall Becomes Award-Winning Building

08 e Umpqua 5 resize.1

UCC's newest building, which was designed by Mahlum Architects, received a Citation Award at Portland Architecture Awards.

ROSEBURG, Oregon – Rooted to the southeastern section of the Umpqua Community College (UCC) campus sits the College’s most-recent addition: Tapʰòytʰaʼ Hall. Along with being the newest kid on the block, earlier this month, the new building became an award-winner.

Designed by Mahlum Architects, the home of UCC’s humanities courses was recognized this month at the Portland Architecture Awards presented by the Portland chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The event, which recognizes the best designs by local firms, awarded Tapʰòytʰaʼ Hall with a Citation Award.

As Mahlum’s website explains, “The new building encourages a sense of calmness, with the play of daylight creating a cozy, inviting atmosphere. The building is literally see-through, with roof and exterior spaces that extend out – blurring the lines between inside and outside, and between personal space and community space.”

Congratulations to Mahlum for their award-winning design of UCC’s newest addition.

Photo: Benjamin Benschneider

About Umpqua Community College

Nestled in the beautiful North Umpqua River Valley, Umpqua Community College is the regional center for higher education in Douglas County, Oregon. UCC provides high quality college degree programs, workforce development, and community learning opportunities.

News, Awards

  • Created on .

Jobs@UCC | A-Z Index | Maps & Parking | Campus Directory | Site Search | Web Feedback | Contact Us

Employee Website (TheNest) | Hawk Squawk eNewsletter | Alumni Membership | Complaints & Concerns | COVID-19 Information | COVID-19 Protocols

© 2021 Umpqua Community College, 1140 Umpqua College Rd., Roseburg, OR 97470
Phone: 541-440-4600 | Toll Free: 800-820-5161 | Oregon Relay TTY: 711

UCC Non-Discrimination Statement.
UCC is an equal opportunity employer and educator. 
Umpqua Community College is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.